Slow Coding

by Regine Heidorn, Bit-Boutique®.

[Read this post in German]

The breathtaking speed with which some products arising from programming like software or websites seem to be developed may mislead over the fact that programming is not a fast kind of work.

Code is poetry – the slogan absorbed by WordPress – stands for one of the many movements of digital poetry coming into existence with the arrival of Zuses computers in the mid 1950s. Artificial texts result from the programmatic exchange of words as for example “Substitute each n-th noun of a text by the n-th following noun of a certain dictionary.“ – one of the experiments of Oulipo (Ouvroir de Littérature Potentielle, Working Group for Potential Literature), formed in 1960 in France, who viewed text as a fabric and fathomed the potential of aesthetics of artificial texts under laboratory conditions.

Code is poetry – in regard to the production of programming code requirements are compressing to efficient because dense production of text. Characterized by the least possible number of lines of code and characters in preferably clear nomination of either the elements of the underlying programming language and the author-chosen elements like variables and functions. The less characters and lines of code the less typewriting for the code-genesis. The more meaningful the nomination, the less semantically unambiguous, the easier the maintainability of the code. Various discussions about the structure of an ideal programming language gather around those basics.

The sense of programming is, similar to assembly line production of bulk goods, to split operations into recurring steps. Being the definition of a first criteria for the usage of programming: the operation to be programmed is anticipated as a concept which is the base for estimating expenses. Anticipating too much speed in this stage means running the risk of exploding budgets. That may result in unmanagable projects. Thus revealing another criteria for the usage of programming: the expenses of programming are measured by the defined purpose of a production step or an operation consisting of several such steps. Transformation into programming will be worth the trouble if expenses for the development of a programmed product and the integration into existing operations fall short of the expenses for operations to be substituted.

This approach is based on the assumption that the expenses of programming could be determined in advance. In fact it‘s only infrequently possible to reuse already existing software or script-libraries without verifying their applicability for the specific project-case. Programming processes contain a variety of basic requirements that are subject to permanent technical change: the chosen programming language itself is subject to change as is our everyday language. Some wellknown script-libraries or frameworks may not be maintained anymore, (new) hardware might be incompatible to some well-established programming-habits, the clients‘ usage of outdated hard- and software might prevent the usage of already established innovations in programming, maybe the hard- and software to be programmed for is already patched specifically and thus may avoid further extension. If in the latter case the documentation is incomprehensible or, worse, doesn‘t even exist, expenses are becoming incalculable. Constantly security vulnerabilities are discovered prohibiting the usage of up to then valid script-snippets. Losses in performance evolving from a certain programming-habit might force to switch to a completely new way of programming for projects being more complex.

All those conditions make up for one basic requirement of a programmer: re-reading. Rereading of own programming code for up-to-dateness and compatibility. Rereading the code of others in order to patch it with own extensions. Rereading of programming languages in order to check for the parts needed to realise individual project objectives. Rereading the code to check the criteria for security and compatibility. That‘s why programmers live in constant consciousness that their code on the date being delivered certainly is state-of-the-art but nonetheless already outdated.

“Re-reading, an activity totally against commercial and ideological habits of our society, calling us to ‘throw away‘ history as soon as consumed (…) so that we have to pass on to another story, buying a new book … re-reading is suggested here to begin, because it solely prevents the text from repetition (the ones not being able to re-read are forced to read the same (hi)story everywhere).“ (translation into English by Regine Heidorn)

Roland Barthes states in 1981.

Rereading is preventing code from repeating his history: reproduction of incompatibilities and security vulnerabilities. Cementing intricate programming and incomprehensible nomination resulting from not reflecting the use of already existing code. Adopting useless functions for the actual project that might become incalculable reasons for misfunctions. Transporting routines that might not have any function at all because they were solely coded to meet specific requirements of the previous project.

“The ones not being able to re-read are forced to read the same (hi)story everywhere“ – this is exactly what‘s happening eg to webdesigners who learned their HTML at the beginning of the 1990s and didn‘t change their habits of code-production. The result are websites based on outdated code and being incompatible to innovations such as mobile internet usage. Superfluous to tell that rereading requires time, same applies for checking the requirements for programming to establish realistic project-budget and schedule.

Code is poetry – on the contrary to prose poetry is dense – few words transport compressed meanings. Meanings also subject to change in programming languages and occasionally producing trivial redundancies. “For the master craftsperson, great code and great poetry are lean and trim, with no excess of words or other unnecessary elements.“ states Matt Ward in Smashing Magazine. Programming is a creative process demanding concentration. Slow coding thus is not a sophisticated postulate of aesthetic polemics but a semantic redundancy, a pleonasm. Which as a rhetoric figure is of ongoing importance because the breathtaking speed with which some products arising from programming like software or websites seem to be developed may mislead over the fact that programming is not a fast kind of work.

Author: Joerg Blumtritt

Joerg Blumtritt (*1970) is data scientist and blogger. He co-founded the companies Datarella and BAYDUINO, based in Munich, Germany, and Baltic Data Science in Gdansk, Poland. Datarella develops data-driven products for the Internet of Things, BDS delivers data-science-as-a-service, BAYDUINO builds open source hardware. Before that, Joerg had worked for media companies in Europe and the US. Having graduated in statistics and political sciences with a thesis on machine learning, Joerg started as a researcher in behavioral sciences, focused on nonverbal communication. As political activist and researcher, Joerg works on projects regarding future democratic participation and open source IoT. He is co-author of the Slow Media Manifesto and blogs about media and art at slow-media.net, about data and the future of social research at beautifuldata.net, and about the IoT at datarella.com.

1 thought on “Slow Coding”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Slow Coding

von Regine Heidorn, Bit-Boutique®.

[Read this post in English]

Die atemberaubende Geschwindigkeit, in der manche Produkte des Programmierens wie Software oder Webseiten zu entstehen scheinen, mag darüber hinwegtäuschen, daß Programmieren keine schnelle Tätigkeit ist.

Code is poetry – der von WordPress okkupierte Slogan – steht für eine der vielen Bewegungen digitaler Poesie, die mit dem Erscheinen der Zuse-Großrechner seit Mitte der 1950er Jahre entstand. Künstliche Texte entstehen durch programmatisches Austauschen von Wörtern, etwa die Anweisung “Ersetze jedes n-te Substantiv eines Textes durch das an n-ter Stelle folgende Substantiv in einem bestimmten Wörterbuch“ – eines der Experimente der 1960 in Frankreich gegründeten Gruppe Oulipo (Ouvroir de Littérature Potentielle, Arbeitsgruppe für Potentielle Literatur), die Texte als Werkstoffe betrachtet und unter Labor-Bedingungen die Potentiale der Ästhetik künstlicher Texte auslotet.

Code is poetry – in Bezug auf die Produktion von Programmiercode verdichten sich Anforderungen an effiziente, weil dichte Textproduktion. Gekennzeichnet von möglichst wenigen Zeilen Code unter Verwendung möglichst weniger Zeichen in möglichst klarer Benennung sowohl der Elemente der zugrundeliegenden Programmiersprache als auch der vom Autor frei wählbaren Elemente wie Variablen und Funktionen. Je weniger Zeichen und Zeilen Code desto weniger Tipp-Arbeit bei der Text-Entstehung. Je sprechender die Bezeichnungen, je semantisch unmißverständlicher, desto leichter die Wartbarkeit. Zahlreiche Diskussionen über die Struktur einer optimalen Programmiersprache landen bei diesen Grundanforderungen.

Der Sinn von Programmierung besteht darin, ähnlich der Fließbandfertigung von Massengütern Abläufe in wiederkehrende Schritte zu unterteilen. Damit ist ein erstes Kriterium für den Einsatz von Programmierung definiert: der zu programmierende Prozess wird konzeptionell vorweggenommen und der Aufwand geschätzt. Wer hier zu viel Schnelligkeit antizipiert, riskiert aus dem Ruder laufende Budgets. Mithin, um im Bild zu bleiben, Projekte, die nicht mehr steuerbar sind. Damit offenbart sich ein weiteres Kriterium für den Einsatz von Programmierung: der Aufwand für die Programmierung bemißt sich nach dem definierten Ziel eines Arbeitsschrittes oder aus mehreren Arbeitsschritten bestehenden Arbeitsablaufs. Die Transformation in eine Programmierung lohnt sich, wenn der Aufwand für die Erstellung eines programmierten Produkts und dessen Integration in die bestehenden Arbeitsabläufe die Aufwände für die zu ersetzenden Abläufe unterschreitet.

Diese Vorgehensweise setzt voraus, daß der Aufwand für eine Programmierung im Voraus festgesetzt werden könnte. Dabei ist es selten möglich, auf bereits vorhandene Software oder eine Sammlung von Skripten zuzugreifen, ohne diese auf die tatsächliche Verwendbarkeit im spezifischen Fall zu prüfen. Programmierprozesse umfassen eine Vielzahl von Grundvoraussetzungen, die einem permanenten technischen Wandel unterliegen: die gewählte Programmiersprache selbst unterliegt genauso wie unsere Alltagssprache einem ständigen Wandel. Manche wohlvertrauten Script-Libraries oder Frameworks werden nicht mehr aktualisiert, (neue) Hardware ist inkompatibel zu etablierten Programmier-Gewohnheiten, die Nutzung veralteter Hard- und Software beim Auftraggeber verhindert die Anwendung bereits in den Programmierablauf übernommener Neuerungen, möglicherweise wurde die Hard- und Software-Umgebung, für die programmiert werden soll, bereits so oft spezifisch gepatcht, daß es schon gar nicht mehr möglich ist, diese überhaupt zu erweitern. Wenn dann noch unverständliche oder gar keine Dokumentation vorliegt, steigt der Aufwand ins Unermeßliche. Ständig werden Sicherheitslücken entdeckt, die die Verwendung bisher valider Script-Schnipsel obsolet machen. Performance-Einbußen durch eine bestimmte Art der Programmierung ab einer gewissen Projektgröße kann eine komplett ungewohnte Herangehensweise nötig machen.

All diese Bedingungen machen eine Fähigkeit des Programmierers zur Grundvoraussetzung: das Wiederlesen. Wiederlesen des eigenen Codes auf Aktualität und Kompatibilität. Wiederlesen des Codes Anderer, in den eigene Ergänzungen gepatcht werden. Wiederlesen der Programmiersprache(n), um zu überprüfen, welche Bestandteile zur Umsetzung des individuellen Projektziels geeignet sind. Wiederlesen des Codes im Hinblick auf die Kriterien Sicherheit und Kompatibilität. Daher leben Programmierer in dem Bewußtsein, daß ihre Arbeit zum Zeitpunkt der Auslieferung zwar auf dem neuesten Stand der Technik ist, jedoch trotzdem bereits veraltet.

“Wieder lesen, eine Verrichtung ganz gegen die kommerziellen und ideologischen Gewohnheiten unserer Gesellschaft, die uns die Geschichte ‘wegzuwerfen’ heisst, sobald sie einmal konsumiert ist (…) so daß wir dann zu einer anderen Geschichte weitergehen, ein anderes Buch kaufen können … Wieder lesen wird hier empfohlen, um anzufangen, denn es allein rettet den Text vor der Wiederholung (diejenigen, die es nicht schaffen, wieder zu lesen, sind genötigt, überall dieselbe Geschichte zu lesen).“

stellt Roland Barthes 1981 fest.

Das Wiederlesen rettet den Code davor, seine Geschichte zu wiederholen: Inkompatibilitäten und Sicherheitslücken zu reproduzieren. Umständliche Programmierung und unverständliche Benennungen durch nicht reflektierten Gebrauch von vorhandenem Code zu zementieren. Für das aktuelle Projekt unnötige Funktionen zu übernehmen, die sich zu unkalkulierbaren Fehlerquellen auswachsen können. Routinen weiter zu transportieren, die möglicherweise gar keine Funktion mehr haben, weil sie allein für eine bestimmte Bedingung im vorhergehenden Projekt nötig waren.

„Diejenigen, die es nicht schaffen, wieder zu lesen, sind genötigt, überall dieselbe Geschichte zu lesen“ – genau das passiert z B bei Webdesignern, die Anfang der 90er Jahre ihr Handwerk erlernt haben und seither ihre Code-Produktion nicht mehr geändert haben. Das Resultat sind Webseiten, deren Basis veralteter Code ist und die an neuere Entwicklungen, wie beispielsweise mobile Internetnutzung, nicht anschlußfähig sind. Überflüssig zu erwähnen, daß dieses Wiederlesen Zeit benötigt, genauso wie das Abklopfen der Bedingungen für die Programmierung, um ein realistisches Projekt-Budget und einen realistischen Zeit-Plan aufstellen zu können.

Code is poetry – im Gegensatz zur Prosa ist Poesie dicht – wenige Wörter transportieren verdichtete Bedeutungen. Die auch in Programmiersprachen permanentem Wandel unterzogen sind und gegebenenfalls triviale Redundanzen produzieren können. “For the master craftsperson, great code and great poetry are lean and trim, with no excess of words or other unnecessary elements.“ meint Matt Ward im Smashing Magazine. Programmieren ist ein kreativer Prozess, der Konzentration erfordert. Slow Coding ist daher kein sophistisches Postulat ästhetischer Polemik, sondern eine semantische Redundanz, ein Pleonasmus. Der als rhetorische Figur dennoch Aktualität besitzt, da die atemberaubende Geschwindigkeit, in der manche Produkte des Programmierens wie Software oder Webseiten zu entstehen scheinen, darüber hinwegtäuschen mag, daß Programmieren keine schnelle Tätigkeit ist.

6 thoughts on “Slow Coding”

  1. Danke für die Blumen 😀 – Uiii, sogar vorlesen … wann denn wo denn? Ach, und nee, neugierig bin ich eher nicht so … mich würden vor allem die Kommentare des Publikums interessieren, könnten die dann hierher wandern?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *