TEX – Digital Typesetting

[Original Post in German]

Facsimile of the 42-line Gutenberg bible from the copy at Berliner Staatsbibilothek Preuss. Kulturbesitz. Peagant, NY 1964

“Gutenberg has in fact invented nothing: Already in the middle of the second millennium BC it would have been possible to print books in that sense. All technical requirements (presses, ink, page-like pads, also the art of casting negatives into metal) had been in place then. Nobody printed yet because they were not conscious that they would handle type when drawing letters.”Vilém Flusser, “Schrift”

The 42-line bible from Gutenberg’s printing shop is regarded as the first book to be printed with the newly invented book printing with movable type. Until today at least 48 copies have survived. The typography of this world-changing book is still viewed as one of the most beautiful to be typeset – if not the most beautiful.

Gutenberg’s typography shows indeed a significant difference to later typesetting: while later typesetters would use leading – small wedges of lead or brass – to adjust word-spacing to the length of the line, Gutenberg used in total 290 different types, several for each letter, differing slightly in width. In respect to the page layout, Gutenberg kept thus much closer to the manuscript than later typesetters; aesthetically superior but far less efficient.

Above and below: Typography of the famous font-designer Hermann Zapf – set with TEX (Images from http://www-cs-faculty.stanford.edu/~uno/).

When I studied mathematics in the early nineties, many of the newer lecture books were so ugly that I had difficulties to comprehend the content from these; the shabby quality of typography and reproduction in those times made the nerdy science maths even more unattractive. The reason for this decline in publication culture lies in the change from hot type to photo setting. In the modern setting machines – still partly mechanic or based on not-so-fast computers – it was not provided or just impossible to create such complicated formulae, multilined by indexes and superscripts, that characterise mathematics. So, usually it would be copying and binding simple computer prints or typewriter scripts with the formulae put in handwriting or drawn with a stencil. For the first time in 500 years the publishers departed from Gutenberg’s technology and some contemporary thinkers like Vilém Flusser even heralded the end of printing.

But not all books were that ugly. From time to time there appeared real pearls of typographic culture amongst the new editions – also in niche fields, in very small circulations, even with doctor or master theses there was a sudden surge in quality – at least regarding the look of the texts.

This is the merit of Donald E. Knuth:

His book “The Art of Computer Programming” gave the occasion for Donald E. Knuth to systematically explore digital typography. The result justifies the labour!

Knuth – on of the pioneers of computer programming – in a decade’s work had written a typesetting software, from which he requested at least the same power and quality as from the great Monotype hot-setting machines. The story of this software is told by Donald Knuth himself: disappointed by the bad quality of his book’s second edition, he had begun to work into typography and printing and not stopped before he would have been able to present the perfect solution – which he published under permissive Free Software Licence!

The notation of complicated formulae in TEX is easily to be learnt. The special characters are preceded by a \-tag. Superscripts and subscripts just come one after the other.

\sum makes the summation-sign Σ
\int the integral ∫
Greek letters likewise: \alpha makes α etc.
It is not difficult to create custom commands or macros in TEX – meanwhile there should be almost every alphabet of the world available as font for TEX

Here is an example for the simplified TEX-version built into Wikipedia: Riemann’s ζ-function.

In TEX-Code:

\zeta(s) = \sum_{n=1}^\infty\frac1{n^s} =1+\frac1{2^s} +\frac1{3^s} +\frac1{4^s} +\cdots

results in the image:

… or for s=2, with the famous relation to the circle:

\zeta(2) = \sum_{n=1}^\infty \frac1{n^2} = \frac{\pi^2}6

What is special about TEX in my view is not so much its easy way to insert mathematical formulae into the text like engraved into steel. TEX typesets the pages in such an aesthetic way like the best hot-set compositors where able to do manually, and that with any type, font, symbol, right to left – just like the text would require.

Aside from the actual typesetting software, TEX comes with a tool for font management: METAFONT. Knuth represented – in difference from his predecessors – the letters not as bitmap, that means as grid of black and white squares, but describes the types as mathematical formula, as curves of functions. This approach is now followed by all typesetting systems – Adobe’s Postscript and pdf as well as Microsoft’s Truetype – with an important exception: in these the outline of the letter are prescribed by the curves, while Knuth prescribed the “stroke of a brush” – a centerline and the outline of the brush in the form of an ellipse.

“The Art of Computer Programming” by Donald E. Knuth is not only printed nicely but also bound nicely – cloth binding with thread-stiching, as it is good manners …

Typography was the most important and most demanding part of book production in all the five hundred years since Gutenberg. This had not been changed by the mechanisation with Linotype or Monotype – it was fine art to produce text with machines in a way that would at least cope with the value of the content. To command technology – and not the other way round – is as prevailing today as in Gutenberg’s time. TEX translates the essentials of this technology into digital media production.

After the content, good typography and layout are the second step, necessary for a valuable text. Then comes the actual production – from paper production, printing, to binding – respectively the display on screen – and the distribution. all theses steps pay into the value of a medium. In every of these carefulness is worthwhile.

“Never before, the progress has been so breathless as since the invention of the imaging contraptions.”
Vilém Flusser: “Schrift”

(the picture is taken from Donald E. Knuth, Digital Typography)

Author: Joerg Blumtritt

Joerg Blumtritt (*1970) is data scientist and blogger. He co-founded the companies Datarella and BAYDUINO, based in Munich, Germany, and Baltic Data Science in Gdansk, Poland. Datarella develops data-driven products for the Internet of Things, BDS delivers data-science-as-a-service, BAYDUINO builds open source hardware. Before that, Joerg had worked for media companies in Europe and the US. Having graduated in statistics and political sciences with a thesis on machine learning, Joerg started as a researcher in behavioral sciences, focused on nonverbal communication. As political activist and researcher, Joerg works on projects regarding future democratic participation and open source IoT. He is co-author of the Slow Media Manifesto and blogs about media and art at slow-media.net, about data and the future of social research at beautifuldata.net, and about the IoT at datarella.com.

1 thought on “TEX – Digital Typesetting”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

TEX – digitaler Buchsatz

[Read this post in English]

Faksimile der 42-zeiligen Gutenberg-Bibel nach dem Exemplar der Berliner Staatsbibliothek Preuss. Kulturbesitz. Peagant, NY, 1964

“Gutenberg hat eigentlich nichts erfunden: Schon um die Mitte des zweiten Jahrtausends v. Chr. hätte man in diesem sinn buchdrucken können. Alle technischen Voraussetzungen (Pressen, Tinten, Blattförmige Unterlagen, auch die Kunst, Negative in Metall zu gießen) waren damals gegeben. Man druckte noch nicht, weil man sich dessen nicht bewußt war, dass man Typen handhabt, wenn man Schriftzeichen zeichnet.”
Vilém Flusser, “Schrift”

Die 42-zeilige Bibel aus der Werkstatt Gutenbergs gilt als das erste Buch, das im neu erfundenen Buchdruck mit beweglichen Lettern gedurckt wurde. Bis heute haben sich mindestens 48 Exemplare erhalten. Die Typografie dieses weltverändernden Buches gilt bis heute als eine der schönsten – von vielen sogar als die schönste erachtet, die je gesetzt wurde.

Der Textsatz Gutenbergs weist allerdings einen ganz wesentlichen Unterschied zu den späteren Satztechniken auf: während spätere Setzer den Zeilenausschluss, der alle Zeilen auf die Breite des Satzspiegels bring, durch Spatien, kleine Blei- oder Messingstreifen erreicht wird, mit denen der Setzer die Wortabstände entsprechend vergrößert, bis die Zeile voll aufgeschlossen ist, nutzte Gutenberg insgesamt 290 unterschiedliche Lettern zum Druck, die für denselben Buchstanben sich geringfügig in der Breite unterschieden. Damit ist Gutenberg vom Erscheindungsbild der Seiten viel näher an der Handschrift geblieben, als spätere Setzer – ästhetisch überlegen, aber weit weniger effizient.

Oben und unten: Typografien des berühmten Schriftdesigners Hermann Zapf – gesetzt mit TEX (Abbildungen von http://www-cs-faculty.stanford.edu/~uno/).

Als ich anfang der Neunziger Mathematik studierte, waren viele neuere Lehrbücher so hässlich, dass es mir schwer viel, den Inhalt daraus zu erfassen; die minderwertigen Satz- und Reproduktionsqualität dieser Zeit machte die “Nerd”-Wissenschaft Mathematik noch unattraktiver. Der Grund für diesen Niedergang an Publikationskultur liegt in der Umstellung vom Bleisatz auf den “Lichtsatz”. In den modernen Satzmaschinen – meist immer noch teilmechanisch oder basierend auf nicht ganz so schnellen Computern – war es schlichtweg nicht vorgesehen oder unmöglich, so komplexe, durch Indizes und Superscripten mehrzeiligen Formeln zu erstellen, wie sie eben die Mathematik ausmachen. In der Regel wurden also einfache Computer-Ausdrucke oder Schreibmaschinen-Skripten mit handschriftlichen oder mit Schablone gezeichneten Formeln vervielfältigt und gebunden. Zum ersten Mal seit 500 Jahren waren die Verlage von Gutenbergs Technologie abgewichen und es schien einigen Zeitgenossen – wie etwa Vilém Flusser – das Ende der Schriftkultur eingeläutet.

Aber nicht alle Bücher waren so hässlich. Immer öfter tauchten unter den Neuerscheinungen wirkliche Perlen der Schriftkunst auf – auch in Nischengebieten, in ganz kleinen Auflagen, ja sogar in Dissertationen und Diplomarbeiten gab es plötzlich einen unglaublichen Qualitätsschub – zumindest was das Aussehen der Texte betrifft.

Dies ist das Verdienst von Donald E. Knuth:

Sein Buch “The Art of Computer Programming” war für Donald E. Knuth der Anlass, sich systematisch mit digitalem Textsatz auseinanderzusetzen. Das Ergebnis rechtfertigt die Mühe!

Knuth – einer der großen Wegbereiter der Computerprogrammierung hatte in fast zehnjähriger Arbeit ein Textsatzprogramm geschrieben, von dem er selbst mindestens dieselbe Leistung und Qualität erwartete, wie von den großartigen Monotype-Bleisatzmaschinen. Die Geschichte dieses Programmes ist von Donald Knuth selbst erzählt: enttäuscht von der schlechten Qualität der zweiten Auflage seines Buches hatte er begonnen sich in Textsatz und Druck einzuarbeiten und nicht eher aufgegeben, bis er die perfekte Lösung vorstellen konnte – die er unter einer Free Software Lizenz veröffentlichte!

Die Notation von komplizierten Formeln ist in TEX schnell erlernt. Die Sonderzeichen werden durch einen \-Tag eingeleitet. Superskripten und Indices kommen einfach der Reihe nach.

\sum ergibt das Summenzeichen Σ
\int das Integral ∫
Griechische Buchstaben ebenso: \alpha ergibt α und so weiter. Es ist nicht schwierig, selbst weitere Befehle oder Macros in TEX anzulegen – inzwischen gibt es wohl nahezu jedes Alphabet auf Erden als Font für TEX.

Hier ein Beispiel in der vereinfachten TEX-Version, die auf Wikipedia eingebaut ist: Die Riehmannsche ζ-Funktion.

In TEX-Code:

\zeta(s) = \sum_{n=1}^\infty\frac1{n^s} =1+\frac1{2^s} +\frac1{3^s} +\frac1{4^s} +\cdots

ergibt als Bild:

… oder für s=2, mit dem bekannten Kreis-Zusammenhang:

\zeta(2) = \sum_{n=1}^\infty \frac1{n^2} = \frac{\pi^2}6

Das besondere an TEX ist aus meiner Sicht gar nicht einmal die Leichtigkeit, mathematische Formeln wie gestochen in den Text einzufügen. TEX setzt Buchseiten in einer ästhetischen Weise, wie es einstmals die besten Bleisetzer von Hand vermochten und zwar mit belibigen Typen, Schriftarten, Symbolen, von Rechts nach Links – ganz danach, wie es der Text erfordert.

Neben dem eigentlichen Textsatzprogramm gehört zu TEX noch ein Werkzeug zum Fontmanagement: METAFONT. Knuth stellte – anders als seine Vorgänger – die Buchstaben und Symbole nicht als Bitmap, also als ein Raster mit schwarzen und weißen Flächen dar, sondern beschreibt die Zeichen als mathematische Formeln, als Kurven von Funktionen. Diesem Ansatz folgen heute alle Textsatzsysteme – Adobes Postscript und pdf ebenso wie Microsofts Truetype – mit einer wichtigen Ausnahme: in diesen wird der Umriss des Buchstabens durch die Kurven beschrieben, während Knuth einen “Pinselstrich” beschreibt – eine Mittellinie und den Umriss des Pinsels in Form einer Elipse.

“The Art of Computer Programming” von Donald E. Knuth ist nicht nur schön gedruckt, sondern auch schön gebunden – Leineneinband mit Fadenheftung, wie es sich gehört!

Der Textsatz war in all den fünfhundert Jahren seit Gutenberg der wichtigste und anspruchvollste Teil der Buchproduktion. Das hatte sich auch durch die Mechanisierung mit Linotype und Monotype geändert – es war eine hohe Kunst, in der es stets darum ging, mit Maschinen Texte zu produzieren, in einer Weise, die dem Wert des Inhaltes mindestens gerecht werden sollte. Die Technologie zu beherrschen – und nicht umgekehrt, sich ihr unterzuodrnen – ist heute so aktuell wie zu Gutenbergs Zeit. TEX übersetzt das wesentliche dieser Technologie in die digitale Medienproduktion.

Nach dem Inhalt sind der gute Satz und das Layout der zweite, notwenidge Schritt zu einem wertvollen Text. Danach folgt die eigentliche Produktion von der Papierherstellung, dem Druck, bis zur Bindung – bzw. die Darstellung auf dem Bildschirm und die Distribution. Alle diese Schritte zahlen auf den Wert eines Mediums ein. In jedem einzelnen lohnt sich Sorgfalt.

“Nie zuvor ist der Forschritt der Geschicte so atemlos gewesen wie seit der Erfindung der bildermachenden Apparate.”
Vilém Flusser: “Schrift”

(die Abbildung nach Knuth a.a.O.)

Weitere Beiträge zum Thema Druck:

7 thoughts on “TEX – digitaler Buchsatz”

  1. Pingback: TeX. - ats20.de
  2. Für mich ist einer der faszinierendsten Punkte an TeX die Tatsache, dass die letzte neu erschienene Version aus dem Jahr 2008 stammt. Aber die Features stammen eigentlich alle aus dem Jahr 1989. Da war Windows 3.0 noch nicht auf dem Markt. Mit Windows 3.0 möchte ich heute nicht mehr arbeiten. Mit TeX jederzeit.

  3. Ich schreibe gerade eine Hauptseminar-Arbeit im Fach Altes Testament über Zeit und Zeitstruktur bei Qohelet. Angefangen habe ich mit Word, bin aber recht schnell verzweifelt und habe deshalb gestern TeX installiert. Das hat zwar ein bisschen gedauert, war aber total simpel und das Ergebnis begeistert. Die paar simplen Befehle sind schnell gelernt und vor allem der Unicode-Support für Hebräische Zeichen war quasi vorinstalliert (XeLaTeX) und bereitet weitaus weniger Probleme, als Word damit hatte.
    Danke Knuth!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *